Skip to content

Fist Pumping Like A Champion

January 28, 2011

So what is fist pumping exactly?  According to Wikipedia, the fist pump is a celebratory gesture in which a fist is raised before the torso and subsequently drawn down and nearer the body in a vigorous, swift motion.

Tiger Woods Fist Pumping

Image compliments of Google

Many famous athletes have been known to fist pump in celebration. The most famous fist pump would probably be when Michael Jordan hit the game winning shot over Craig Ehlo to beat the Cleveland Cavaliers in 1989. Tiger Woods has been spotted once or twice fist pumping after making an incredible golf shot.  Tennis players have also been known to be expert fist pumpers after winning a long volley. Fist pumping has been around in sports ever since I was born. It’s kind of like the go to celebration if you don’t have anything else to do. I myself have been known to be an expert fist pumper. I use it when I do something good in a sport and I have also been known to fist pump when I receive a good grade on a paper.

But, if we were to really talking about expert fist pumpers, we definitely cannot forget about the expert fist pumpers who do it on “The Jersey Shore.” Now, I know that fist pumping has been around for quite some time now but it seems like lately the new dance move “fist pumping like a champion” has taken off and created a lot of buzz around college campuses. “Fist pumping like a champion” is when someone punches the air in an upward motion repulsively to the beat. Mike “the Situation”, Snooki, Jwow, Vinny, Ronnie, Sammy and Dj Pauly D all members of  “The Jersey Shore” cast have perfected the fist pump.

Urban Dictionary defines fist pumping as, a classic guido move, newly popularized by MTV’s show “The Jersey Shore.” This all started when MTV first aired its show “The Jersey Shore” and Dj Pauly D was doing something which looked like punching the ground. After asked about it he said he was just beating that beat up. Today, students can walk around and go to college parties and notice that students everywhere are beating that beat up as well.

Fist pumping has caught on like a wild fire, especially in dance clubs. If you’re ever at a club and you don’t know what to do, all you got to do is beat that beat up. Dj Pauly D has also came up with a song that is called “Beat That Beat Up” which is focused on fist pumping. The song has caught on very quickly. The song is played after every win the professional hockey team the Washington Capitals get.

So what is the deal here? Is this something that will stay or is just something that will only be around for a few months.  I personally think it’s something that has been around for a while but will become popular again. Everyone knows what it is and it’s not a hard move to do. Whether it be while someone is dancing, or celebrating after something good that just happened, fist pumping is here to stay. And remember, if you ever score or point or everyone is dancing around you and you don’t know what to do, just start beating that beat up like there is no tomorrow.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 13, 2011 6:08 pm

    Putting a lot on your plate means that you should eat it all!! And me being a 52 year old freshmen has it’s drawbacks for retention of the mind. College has been an exciting new life for me. I am a DJ on Black Squirrel Radio and I have made some great new friends and contacts in professors and students alike. I feel sorry for people who don’t get involved in other groups and organizations because they are withdrawn or lazy! With youth comes great energy and spirit and I am proud that even at 52 I want to reinvent myself and make it a more knowledgable, technological and worldly trained soul. Facing the loss of my business, I hjad no choice but to keep active one way or another and I look at it as a blessing that I have been given this opportunity by God and our government! I pray for those who thought that crime and waste was the way to go in their college careers hearing about the fake id’s, theft, killings, drug and alcohol abuses or simply not applying your mind to the studies at hand. Good luck to you and have a nice life after graduation…

    • April 14, 2011 2:19 pm

      I would like to thank you for the post first off. Second I commend what you’re doing. I don’t think people realize that as you get older, more responsibilities fall into your lap and starting school late only makes it tougher for the individual. You probably have to deal with real world problems like bills, and a family. Good luck to you and make the most of this opportunity that you have been given.

  2. April 14, 2011 12:43 am

    I really enjoyed this particular blog a lot for various reasons. First off, I like how the author chose a variety of topics that pertained to college students such as hit reality show, Jersey Shore, and the discussion about spring break in Panama. Also, I like how readers are able to interact with the blogger. The poll for Kent’s favorite dining places on campus was an example of this. After reviewing the site, I found rarely any flaws; however, proper punctuation and grammar should be proofed more before blogs are published.

Leave a Reply

