Skip to content

Swagger in Sports

March 8, 2011

Tongues out

Me tongues out

So I have been noticing some new trends in sports lately. One of the first things that come to mind for me is hockey, this might be because it’s my favorite sport. Well, just this year, I have just started playing with tongues out. Tongues out is when you flip the tongues of your skates out so that it’s under the shin pad and sticking out. I noticed this trend when I was in High School playing hockey and thought to myself, I wonder if that has any significant meaning to it? Later, I came to find out that a lot of hockey player who do go tongues out are pretty good with their hands and are pretty fast as well (I guess it would only make sense that I started to go tongues out).

This style of wearing skates has caught on like a wild fire. Hockey players of all ages are starting to go tongues out. I’m a hockey coach and I see kids at the age of five going tongues out, so I know that they have a bright hockey future ahead of them. I personally think that I have perfected tongues out and am pretty confident  in saying that I could even make it look good in figure skates if I wanted to. Not saying that I would ever do it anyway.

Here is why I go tongues out:

  • Helps my ankles bend
  • Better balance
  • Skate faster
  • Look cool doing it

High Socks in Basketball

I don’t know who started the high socks trend in basketball but if I do find out I would definitely like to shake their hand. The high socks trend has been around a little bit longer than tongues out. The key with this is to pull the socks up at least to your knee caps. Two reasons, it just looks cool and the sock can ultimately protect your knee cap if you were to fall to the ground.

Kyle Korver

Image Compliments of Google

Kyle Korver, an NBA basketball player, has perfected the high socks trend. He pulls his socks all the way up to his knee cap and to top it off, he makes sure that his socks go along with the color of his jersey. Now if that’s not swag points I don’t know what is.

Even though I have been playing basketball for most of my life, I am still trying to perfect this trend. I am still a rookie at this. When  I play basketball, every time I run down the court one sock will usually fall down to my ankle. So now I’m forced to run down the court with the ball in my hand trying to pull-up my sock at the same time. I feel awkward doing it, I can only imagine what it looks like.

I’ve started to notice that people are starting to shy away from this trend now and I’m not quite sure why that is. Maybe I just have no sense of fashion, I don’t know. Well I’m trying to bring this trend back. Let me end with this, if you’re looking on the basketball court and you see someone about 5 foot 7 with a pair of the old school basketball shorts that come up to about the upper thigh. The  socks will come up a little bit over the knee cap to about mid thigh level. Chances are it’s going to be me on the court.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

