Skip to content

Swag Points To Prepare For College

April 5, 2011

Making the transition

College can be very overwhelming for some. For most, it’s hard to make that transition from High School to college. A few things to remember when choosing a college. Don’t just choose a school based on what your friends decide to do. Go to a school that will benefit you the most. I don’t know how many times I’ve heard of friends choosing a college based off of a friend. College should be some of the best times of your life. Meeting new people in college is something that I love doing. Don’t get me wrong, I still try to keep in-touch with all of my High School friends. Some still go to school with me right now but I’m happy about the new friends I have made so far.

I love the whole aspect of meeting people from all over. I have friends from Pennsylvania, Chicago, Florida, and other states across the United States. One suggestion that I would  make to in-coming freshman is to not take a class with your roommate.  I don’t know how many times I’ve heard stories about roommates not liking each other. When you spend every second with someone, it doesn’t take much for you to not like each other.  Class should be the number one priority in college. For some reason, people love to sit with friends in class and just talk the whole time. That might be the number one thing that makes me  annoyed.

Get involved

Me at TV2

Get involved with different  groups. So far I have been involved with TV2, Kent State Hockey, PRSSA, and the DailyKent Stater. Through these groups I have met a lot of people who I have built great relationships with. A lot of the people I have met through these groups have helped me out in some type of way. Without joining these groups, I think it would be difficult for me to get through college. Try something different that may be outside of your comfort zone.

Stay organized

It’s very important stay organized in college, especially your first semester. I remember when I was living in the dorms my first semester my room was so messy you would have thought it was a storage room instead of a dorm room.  I could never find anything. Now I try to keep everything organized. My best advice I can give is color categorize your notebooks and folders. For example, if I have a green notebook for my PR Online class, I will then get a green folder to put all of my papers in. Also,  another thing to do is re-use your notebooks. Chances are you won’t use your whole notebook so rip out the pages you’ve used and save it for next year. It saves a little money.

Go to class

I can’t stress this next point enough. Go to every class. A lot of first year students get excited about teachers not taking attendance but in reality, you need to go to every class. You’re paying for it, so why would you skip. It’s like paying for a hotel room and not staying there. It just doesn’t make sense to me. Class is where you will meet most of your friends anyway. I’ve met some of best friends in classes related to my major. Become friends with them early because chances are you will see them for the next four years of your life.

Network

The last point I find very important is networking. I lived in the dorms for two years and I had some of the best times of my life. I met so many people that I still talk to from the dorms. Use the dorm life to your advantage. You have a meal plan so you don’t have to worry about making food. Try to talk to as many people as possible. Don’t be afraid to go up to someone and introduce yourself.

College is something that you will remember for the rest of your life. Make memories and friends that you will have forever. My motto is to not look back at college and say what if but, I can’t believe that happened. Enjoy it because it goes by quick.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Brittany Doyle permalink
    April 12, 2011 11:34 pm

    I can’t agree more with you about all of your swag points to prepare for college. Like you mention I think the number one thing to avoid is choosing a college because your friend(s) are going there. This often leads to unhappiness your first year of college because you didn’t choose a college that truly fits you and your needs rather you chose one that fits your friends, and you truly don’t get to step outside the box because most people who do this have a tendency to hang with the same people rather than opening up and meeting others. Another great point you make is don’t take classes with your roommate. I couldn’t agree more I’ve heard people losing friendships over this as well because there’s to much interaction with one another everyday you need to get out surround your self with other people and you will have a much happier living environment. I also believe that taking classes with roommates cause competition with whos doing better in the class and then there becomes tension within your living quarters , which is never good. GO TO CLASS I think has to be probably the major point in your whole blog to incoming students. I’ve found even with many of my friends, to many think its ok to skip class just because there’s not attendance, being present in class is the most valuable thing you can do for yourself because truly if you say your going to skip class but you’ll read and look over the notes posted most likely your like everyone else and won’t do it till the week of the exam, and you’ll fall so far behind, and before you know it you have a C in the class. DON”T do it! I truly think that we need to find a better way to stress the importance of attending class around college campuses, because i honestly think that’s probably one of the number one reasons freshman do poorly there first year of college they just fall into the dark hole like many no attendance? why go to class then? I’ll tell you why to LEARN and DO WELL! I think the biggest thing I regret about my college experience so far and I’m a junior now is that I waited to get involved, and I truly wish I would have so much earlier. College offers so many great clubs/groups and through those there are so many opportunities and I wish I would have taken advantage of that early on! What I didn’t know before reading your blog and watching the video you posted was that parents are now encouraged to start planning for college for their kids in JUNIOR HIGH!!! WOW when I heard that I thought no way that’s so early, but after listening I guess it totally makes sense to prepare that early. They mention in the video study strategies, I don’t think parents or students really realize how important study skills are until they enter college, and that’s such a huge part of being able to do well in college is having good study strategies, I’m really glad they mentioned that.

    • April 14, 2011 2:14 pm

      Thank you for the post Brittany. You brought up some really great points. Once people get to college they take for granted what they have, when in reality there is only a small number of kids who actually go to college right out of high school. Well I hope that this post helped you and good luck in the rest of your college career.

  2. Danielle DeBord permalink
    April 14, 2011 2:36 am

    College has been a huge transition for me. Many people from my high school came to Kent State University, but only one is a close friend. I see him occasionally, but I have so many new friends and it has been a great experience so far. My roommate and I met on facebook, but as the year has progressed we haven’t got along so well. We’re civil and talk we’re just not as close as we were the beginning of the year. I am in Delta Gamma, Habitat for Humanity, Junior Panhellenic Council and PRSSA. Being involved has made my experience so much better! You just have to remember that school always has to come first and you can’t make yourself too busy. Also, I have only missed classes because I was sick. I refuse to miss class. I just feel so informed the next class. My grades have proven my good attendance. I agree so much with these swag points. They pin point everything you need to know for college. All of these things have improved my first year experience at Kent State University.

    • April 14, 2011 2:21 pm

      Thank you for the post Danielle. I see that you’re involved in a lot of organizations too and that’s good. It might not seem like it now but it will definitely help you in the long-run. Good luck with the rest of your college career.

  3. Melissa DiVincenzo permalink
    April 14, 2011 2:47 am

    I agree with everything written about the swag points to prepare for college. High school students assume the transition will not be a problem because they will be so excited to start living their own life free of rules and burdens set by their parents. However, I learned the hard way. I live about an hour away so the transition should be simple right? I’ve never been a homebody and my sisters live away from home so I didn’t see my family often. But I was miserable! The whole transition period and getting into the swing of things at college was not an easy adventure by any means. So I basically did all the ‘swagger points’. I got involved with activities at the rec center, always stayed organized with my school work, made going to class my first priority and networked to try and find new and exciting friends. The swag points couldn’t be more spot on! I spent my time buried in school work to try to relieve the feeling of being away from home and my high school friends. High school students need to realize that college is a whole new ball game and it isn’t how it is depicted in movies or tv shows by any means !

    • April 14, 2011 2:24 pm

      Thank you for the post and I’m happy you enjoyed my blog. A lot of students don’t realize how valuable an education is. Instead they get caught up in the moment and try to be the cool kid on campus by skipping class. Sure it’s fun now but once you’re out of college reality sets in and then what. Good luck the rest of your college career.

  4. Megan Doak permalink
    April 14, 2011 4:27 am

    I agree and think that all of the points you made about preparing for college are completely correct. I’ve seen so many people hate their college experience because they went to a school just because a friend, boyfriend, or girlfriend went to that school. It’s our lives and its important that we make decisions in our best interest and don’t just follow friends. I also agree that it’s very important to not just cling on to your high school friends. I went into college with the goal to meet and make as many new friends as possible and thats what i did, however, i am still friends with many people that i went to high school with. I chose to do random rooming my freshman year and me and my roommate became really close and got along great and i think one of the main reasons is because we gave each other space. We didn’t take the same classes and hang out 24/7. I also agree that its very important to get involved in other activities on campus. Getting organized was also another point you made that i loved. One of my biggest mistakes in the beginning was being unorganized. It affected my grades more than i thought it would. I quickly learned that being organized helped made a huge different for me with classes and my grades. my favorite point that you make in this article is go to class. Skipping class only wastes money and makes passing your classes a lot harder.

  5. April 14, 2011 1:17 pm

    This article could not be truer. I find everything that it says to be accurate and something that I have already realized myself. With this said I have to find it credible because it is not often that a person finds something they read to be 100% true. I too want to get involved and I too realize how important meeting new people is. If it weren’t for meeting new people then college would be a cold lonely place. The question remains, what are the best ways to meet new people. Well, I would say the author has some points and ideas about it but has forgotten the easiest way you can meet a ton of awesome people. That is by going Greek. By joining a fraternity or sorority, you are introducing yourself to a whole new world beyond the walls of the classroom. There are so many events that introduce you to all the other chapters that you wont know what to do with yourself. Not to mention the bond you get from the people in your own chapter. Truly, how many people can say that they have 50 brothers or sisters? Not many but that is what you would have. You would have 50 eyes watching over you to make sure you were okay and to see if you wanted to talk. So when you read this article, realize that all the points are one hundred percent accurate but there is another option to meeting people and that is by going Greek!

  6. April 19, 2011 3:21 am

    You make some really good points in this post. I think dorm life is one of the best things about college – ya it gets old after a year or two, but it’s part of the experience. I have met some of my best friends through dorms, and I talk or say hi to people who lived on my floor.

    Great point about going to class too and making friends with people in your major. I’ve heard you waste $41.70 for every class you skip.

    Getting involved is one of the best ways to make the transition too. Even getting involved with simple things like going to floor meetings or fun little events your dorm puts on will benefit you some how.

  7. April 28, 2011 1:49 am

    I agree with all of your points about college – so many people don’t take full advantage of college. College can be intimidating at first, and it is easy to stay in your dorm, not get involved and talk to who you already know. My favorite point of yours was the fourth one: “Go to Class.” I learned freshman year that just going to class makes such a difference in your grade, even though attendance isn’t always required! Professors notice when you go to class, and I’ve had several bump my grade up (when it was on the boarder line) just because they noticed I came to class everyday. I also know a lot of people who decided to go to the same college just so they could room together. What a terrible idea! Your college choice should be for you and you only. All and all I think you covered great points when preparing for college, and upcoming students should take note.

    • April 28, 2011 1:19 pm

      First I would like to thank you for your comment. Second, I don’t think people realize how important it is to go to class. Once you fall behind in college it’s so hard to make-up that ground. So many people get caught up in the social aspect of college they forget why they are there, and that’s to get a degree.

Leave a Reply

